The Waiting Game

In two weeks and one day I’ll be impatiently waiting for my turn to compete.  My division goes last, which means I get to (have to) watch everybody compete first before I’m up.  I’ll get to the tournament at 9 am for check-in, but won’t square up with my first opponent until late afternoon.  For some reason, this has been the case for every tournament I’ve competed in regardless of division or skill level.  I’m always last, playing the waiting game.

In past tournaments, my nerves got the best of me.  I’d warm up and cool down several times before I even needed to.  Throughout the day, my adrenaline would rise and then fall.  I don’t think the waiting game impacted my performance, but it’s a little annoying and unnecessary.

This time around, I’m going to enjoy the day while watching my friends compete.  Once I’m eventually up, it’s go time.

Reply to Killer J!

