Insight From The Armless

In jiujitsu, we’re taught to keep moving.  Don’t just lay there, right?  This concept has become more apparent with one less arm to operate with.  More specifically, my lower body movement has been improved by just that… movement.

I’ve noticed my opponent cannot mount an offense, and is perpetually reacting to my movement.  I do this by constantly shifting my hips, pushing with one leg, and pulling my opponent off base with the other, and then shifting my hips again, etc.  Lather, rinse, repeat.  When my opponent is left reacting to my constant movement, it buys me time to set up techniques.

Movement buys time.

Reply to Killer J!

