Some Days You’re The Hammer…

Well, today I was the nail.  Jiu-jitsu is funny that way.  You can be smashing folks one day, and then get tied in a knot the next.  I don’t know, maybe that’s just my experience.  Hopefully, my fellow grapplers can chime in on this one.

Don’t take this as a “woe is me” post either.  The constant learning and adaptation I find myself going through is part of what makes jiu-jitsu so damn addicting.  I just need to up my game, because once you’re a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

12 thoughts on “Some Days You’re The Hammer…

  1. If it makes you feel any better that’s exactly what I said 2 weeks ago after you beat the hell out of me.

  2. Happens the same way with me. One day I think I am doing well, the next day I think I suck. But I agree, competition in the gym is a big part of what drives me to learn and get better. Because it feels great to be the hammer sometimes!

    • Well sir, you were one of the hammers this week… and last week. Oh, and the week before that as well.

  3. That happens to me when I run too much. 🙂 Seriously though, when I have been going too hard on everything else (for example this past week cramming for the 1/2 and not letting up on my other training), or when I’m not getting enough sleep, or the worst, when both of those things are happening, I tend to get smashed. Next week though, next week!

    • If I ever feel like a hammer, it’s usually one of those sissy rubber ones the doctor uses to check your reflexes.

  4. I go through times where I consider taking up competitive baking due to being owned by everyone. However, when you are on it makes up for every bad day you have. Just my opinion

    • Competitive baking huh? Last night had me considering becoming really good at the UFC video game and living vicariously through that. You’re right though, the days when I’m on make up for the shit days.

  5. I go through this cycle endlessly. Periods of time where I feel I am on a roll and then followed by times where I question if I even deserve the belt I wear.

    In the end i just keep on training because I really have no other choice.

Reply to Killer J!

