Balancing Act

The Ragnar Wasatch Back is about six weeks away, and I’m doing my best to get some miles on my shoes so I perform well.  The trick is getting in running shape in six weeks without losing strength or halting my jiujitsu progress.  Jiujitsu is my passion and strength training is a way of life; running is simply something I keep letting myself get talked in to.

Nevertheless, those Ragnar stickers on everybody’s back window are bad ass looking and I have cool people on my relay team so I better do it right.  Here’s my plan.  My balancing act*.

Nutrition:  Continue six meals per day.  Substantially increase carbohydrate intake.  Get nutrient timing down to maximize my training when both running or hitting the weights.

Strength Training: At least three times per week.  I’ll go to Arlo’s place on Mondays, and hit up my work’s new gym Wednesdays and Fridays.  Squats, deadlifts, pull ups, bent over rows, standing overhead press, and bench press will all find their way in to my three day split.

Running: 3 to 4 times per week.  Monday will be a 5 mile run, Tuesday is optional 3 mile run (time permitting), Friday will be my six to nine mile run, and Saturday will focus on running hills for approximately 3 to 5 miles.

Jiujitsu: One to two times per week. 😦  Thursday will be my for sure day.  I can’t miss Thursday.  Monday will be my optional day, time permitting.  Saturday jiujitsu will have to go for now.  Dammit.

*subject to change at Killer J’s discretion.

6 thoughts on “Balancing Act

  1. As a former person who got talked into running I must disagree with this “bad ass” sticker race you got yourself into. A national title in Jiu Jitsu sounds like time better spent to me…

    • I agree Blake and Joe! Like I said, I don’t know how I keep getting talked in to this shit. I already agreed to do one in October too! Good thing not very many people offered me drugs when I was younger…

Reply to Killer J!

