New Experiences

Today, I had the chance to do two new things in very familiar areas; jiujitsu and running.

My buddy, Miles (DragonEagle), asked me to teach his high school jiujitsu class tonight.  I’ve been doing jiujitsu for close to three years, but have never taught.  It was a bit more of a challenge than I’d anticipated teaching techniques I thought I was familiar with.  The teaching process forced me to look at some of the minor details I take for granted when performing a technique, and then explain those details to the students in an understandable way.  It was fun teaching, and I’d gladly do it again.  It’s just that the process gave me even more respect for my teachers.

My other new experience in a familiar arena was in the form of a personal best running distance of 7 miles.  It doesn’t sound impressive, but I’ve never done it before so I’m still going to go ahead and pat myself on the back.  My legs are cooked.  That is all.

One thought on “New Experiences

Reply to Killer J!

