Juggling My Training

The Red Rock Relay has me all flustered when it comes to organizing my workouts.  Back when I was just a simple meat head, all I had to do was figure out which area of my body I was going to assault with the barbell.  Then I picked up jiu jitsu, and had to make a few adjustments.  Now I’m a runner (albeit temporarily), jiu jitsu player, and meat head.  My simple mind has a tough time coming up with an effective training regimen so I can still be the shiz-nit at all three endeavors.  Sometimes my mind works better if I have a visual representation of what I’m trying to accomplish in front of me.  I’ll post this week’s workouts as they occur:

Monday

MEAT HEAD PORTION:

DB Press: 50 lbs/8 reps/2 sets…75 lbs/8 reps/1 set…95 lbs/8 reps/1 set…11o lbs/8 reps/2 sets

DB Seated Overhead Press: 55 lbs/8 reps/2 sets

Plate Loaded Incline Press: 225 lbs/8 reps/2 sets

Ball Crunches: Body Weight/12 slow reps/3 sets

RUNNER PORTION:

2 miles on treadmill at 9 min/mile pace

JIU JITSU PORTION:

Mark’s Gi Class 1 hour, no gi sparring afterwards 0.5 hours for a total of 1.5 hours of jiu jitsu

Wednesday

MEAT HEAD PORTION:

Squats (ass to ankles): 135 lbs/8 reps/2 sets…185 lbs/8 reps/2 sets

Weighted Bench Step-ups: 35lbs per hand/8 reps per leg/2 sets

Single Leg Curl Machine: 25 lbs per leg/10 reps per leg/2 sets

Donkey Raise Calf Machine: 410 lbs/10 reps/2 sets

Incline Sit Ups: Body Weight/12 reps/3 sets

RUNNER PORTION:

Tabata Style on Treadmill (20 seconds on, 10 seconds off, 1 minute rest after four “reps”): 10 mph/4 reps/4 sets

Five Mile Jog at Ogden Parkway: 10 minute/mile pace

Thursday

RUNNER (cardio) PORTION

Two, six minute rounds of the following: 1 minute of mountain climbers, 1 minute of pushup bridges, 1 minute of bear crawl, 1 minute shadow box and sprawl, 1 minute mogul hops, 1 minute speed squats.

JIU JITSU PORTION:

2 hours of nogi jiujitsu

FRIDAY

RUNNER PORTION:

5 mile jog at Ogden Parkway.  I shaved 1 minute off my time from Wednesday!

SATURDAY

MEAT HEAD PORTION:

Machine Row: 230 lbs/8 reps/4 sets

Close Grip Pull Down: 210 lbs/8 reps/3 sets

DB Upright Row: 35 lbs/12 reps/3 sets

Incline Sit ups: Body weight/12 reps/2 sets

Decline Butt Raise: Body weight/12 reps/2 sets

RUNNER PORTION:

2 miles on treadmill at 9 minute/mile pace

JIU JITSU PORTION:

1.5 hours nogi jiu jitsu

2 thoughts on “Juggling My Training

Reply to Killer J!

