Ageless

Mark owns West Side Jiu-Jitsu Academy, and is a smooth, technical, Pedro Sauer brown belt.  He celebrated his 40th birthday by subjecting himself to a grueling, one man tournament against 40 people! His ability is impressive, but more so, I was impressed by his perspective that the number “40” isn’t a chronological marker, but rather a new standard by which to test himself.

It reminds me of retired, Hall of Fame, Washington Redskins cornerback, Darrell Green.  He retired at 42 years old, and was the only man to run his age in the 40 yard dash.

Darrell refused to let age slow him down on the football field.  Better yet, he used age as a new standard by which to test himself.

So, like Mark and Darrell, I’m going to follow suit.  I turn 30 in a year and a half.  By my 30th birthday, my goal is to be able to eat 30 times my body weight in rib tips. I’m coming for YOU, pig!

2 thoughts on “Ageless

Reply to Killer J!

