Should I Show Obama Love?

Saturday, November 08, 2008

Commander in Chief/Patriotism
Current mood:  thoughtful
Category: News and Politics

Should I Show Obama Love?

Most people that know me are aware I am less than thrilled about the incoming ideological stench emanating from President B.O.’s social policy.  I was commiserating with a like-minded, fellow genius named Mark about that which ails our nation, and he suggested an interesting view.

Although he doesn’t support Obama’s policy, he supports him as a president.  Is this possible?  I have a military buddy named Scott with a similar view.  He is an Army Ranger that does not support Bush’s ideals, and is against the war.  The interesting thing is, he fully supports Bush since he is my buddy’s Commander in Chief.  He has been overseas more than once now, and is decidedly unhappy about this and yet he does not mercilessly slam Bush like 90% of my friends and family, or especially the idiots in Hollywood.  So, can I disapprove of Obama’s policy and yet actually support him?  I need to think this through and hear some opinions, but it could be the right way to go.

The old moniker, “United We Stand, Divided We Fall” seems appropriate with this line of thought.  The oft used counter to this is, “Divide and Conquer.” Well, we are pretty damn divided, thus, susceptible to being conquered.  At this point in time, we can’t afford to be divided.  We are fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan, and will likely continue to war with these countries and maybe even other countries in that region.  What, because Obama’s in office you really think this shit will stop? Anyway, SINCE war will continue with those uncivilized, seventh century throwbacks for the foreseeable future, it may be a good plan for everybody to hop aboard the Obama Boat.

At the same time, it feels I am kowtowing to a man who stands for many principles which I am against.  So, I am conflicted.  Thoughts?

Reply to Killer J!

